The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    McMaster University
   
 
  Nov 21, 2017
 
 
    
School of Graduate Studies Calendar, 2015-2016 [-ARCHIVED CALENDAR-]

Sessional Dates 2015-2016


DEADLINE DATES FOR GRADUATE PROGRAMS (EXCEPT MBA - SEE BELOW) FALL TERM WINTER TERM SUMMER TERM
  Sept.- Dec., 2015
Sept. - Oct., 2015 (1HF)
Nov. - Dec., 2015 (2HF)
Jan. - April, 2016
Jan. - Feb., 2016 (1HF)
March - April, 2016 (2HF)
May - August, 2016

 

On-Time Registration Tuesday, July 28 to
Friday, August 14
Thursday, December 3 to
Thursday, December 17
Thursday, April 7 to
Thursday, April 21
Class Start Dates * Classes begin after September 3, 2015 - check with program for details Classes begin after  January 4, 2016 - check with program for details Class start dates vary - check with program for details
Late Registration Saturday, August 15 to
Monday, September 14
Friday, December 18 to
Monday, January 4
Friday, April 22 to
Monday, May 6
Final Dates to Add Courses:
  Full Courses  Friday, September 25    
  Half Courses or Quarter Courses (1HF) Friday, September 25  Friday, January 22 Friday, May 20
  Quarter Courses (2HF) Friday, October 30 Friday, March 4  
Final Dates to Drop Courses: **
  Full Courses Friday, January 8    
  Half Courses Friday, October 9 Friday, February 5 Friday, June 10
  Quarter Courses (1HF) Thursday, September 24 Friday, January 22  
  Quarter Courses (2HF) Friday, November 6 Friday, March 11  
Final Dates to Submit Grades:
  Full Courses   Monday, April 25  
  Half Courses Monday, January 4 Monday, April 25 Friday, August 26
  Quarter Courses (1HF) Friday, October 30 Friday, March 4  
  Quarter Courses (2HF) Monday, January 4 Monday, April 25  
Final Date to Submit Results of Incomplete (INC) Grades for Previous Term with Permission of Associate Dean

Friday, March 11

Friday, July 8

Friday, November 11

Thesis

  FALL 2015 SPRING 2016 FALL 2016
Final Date to Submit Ph.D. Theses to Graduate Studies (Prior to Defense) Friday, July 17
 
 Tuesday, Feb. 2
(Health Sci.)
Tuesday, Feb. 23
(All others)
Friday, July 15
Final Date to Submit Master’s Theses to Departments (Prior to Defense) Friday, August 14 Friday, March 11 Friday, August 12
Final Date to File Theses with Graduate Studies and Complete Degree Requirements  
  - Faculty of Health Sciences Thursday, Sept. 24 Thursday, March 31 (except Nursing) Thursday, Sept. 22
  - All Other Faculties Thursday, Sept. 24 Thursday, April 21 (including Nursing) Thursday, Sept. 22

* There is no official fall break or reading week for graduate students (except MBA). Students should check with their program and their course instructor(s) as to whether classes will be held during these periods. Please see sections 1.3 (Responsibilities of Graduate Students to the University)  and 2.5.6 (Vacations)  of the calendar for more information. 

** All courses on a student’s record after these dates will require a grade. Exceptions require submission of a Petition for Special Consideration 

MBA Program

On-Time Registration - All Levels Thursday, July 28 to
Friday, August 14
Thursday, December 3 to
Thursday, December 17
Thursday, April 7 to
Thursday, April 21
Late Registration Saturday, August 15 to
Monday, September 14
Friday, December 18 to
Monday, January 4
Friday, April 22 to
Monday, May 2
Class Start Dates September 14 January 4 April 25
Final Dates to Add Courses September 24 January 22 May 6th
Final Dates to Drop Courses:* October 9 February 5 May13th
Note: For more detailed MBA dates, please see the MBA academic calendar.

* All courses on a student’s record after these dates will require a grade. Exceptions require submission of a Petition for Special Consideration.

Convocation Dates

  FALL 2015 SPRING 2015 FALL 2016
Fall - All Faculties Friday, November 20   TBD
Spring - Faculty of Health Sciences (except Nursing)   Friday, May 27th  
Spring - All other Faculties (including Nursing)   Monday June 13th to Friday June 17th