Nov 20, 2019  
School of Graduate Studies Calendar, 2016-2017 
    
School of Graduate Studies Calendar, 2016-2017 [-ARCHIVED CALENDAR-]

Sessional Dates 2016-2017


DEADLINE DATES FOR GRADUATE PROGRAMS FALL TERM WINTER TERM SUMMER TERM
Sept.- Dec., 2016
Sept. - Oct., 2016 (1HF)
Nov. - Dec., 2016 (2HF)
Jan. - April, 2017
Jan. - Feb., 2017 (1HF)
March - April, 2017 (2HF)

May - August, 2017

 

On-Time Registration Tuesday, July 26 to
Tuesday, August 30
Thursday, December 1 to
Thursday, December 15
Thursday, April 6 to
Thursday, April 20
Class Start Dates * Classes begin after September 5, 2016 - check with program for details Classes begin after  January 2, 2017 - check with program for details Class start dates vary - check with program for details
Late Registration Wednesday August 31 to
Monday, September 12
Friday, December 16 to
Monday, January 2
Friday, April 21 to
Monday, May 1
Final Dates to Add Courses:
  6 Unit Courses Friday, September 30    
  3 Unit Courses or 1.5 Unit Courses (1HF) Friday, September 30  Friday, January 27 Friday, May 19
  1.5 Unit Courses (2HF) Friday, October 28 Friday, March 3 Friday, June 30
Final Dates to Drop Courses: **
  6 Unit Courses Friday, January 6    
  3 Unit Courses Friday, October 7 Friday, February 3 Friday, June 9
  1.5 Unit Courses (1HF) Thursday, September 30 Friday, January 27 Friday, June 9
  Quarter Courses (2HF) Friday, November 4 Friday, March 10 Friday, July 14
Final Dates to Submit Grades:
  6 Unit Courses   Monday, May 1  
  3 Unit Courses Monday, January 2 Monday, May 1 Friday, August 25
  1.5 Unit Courses (1HF) Friday, October 28 Friday, March 3 Friday, August 25
  1.5 Unit Courses (2HF) Monday, January 2 Monday, May 1 Friday, August 25
Final Date to Submit Results of Incomplete (INC) Grades for Previous Term with Permission of Associate Dean

Friday, March 10

Friday, July 7

Friday, November 10

Thesis

  FALL 2016 SPRING 2017 FALL 2017
Final Date to Submit Ph.D. Theses to Graduate Studies (Prior to Defense) Friday, July 15
 
 Tuesday, Feb. 7
(Health Sci.)
Tuesday, Feb. 21
(All others)
Friday, July 14
Final Date to Submit Master’s Theses to Departments (Prior to Defense) Friday, August 12 Friday, March 10 Friday, August 11
Final Date to File Theses with Graduate Studies and Complete Degree Requirements  
  - Faculty of Health Sciences Friday, September 30th  Thursday, April 6th (except Nursing) Friday, September 29
  - All Other Faculties Friday, September 30th  Thursday, April 27 (including Nursing) Friday, September 29

* There is no official fall break or reading week for graduate students (except MBA). Students should check with their program and their course instructor(s) as to whether classes will be held during these periods. Please see sections 1.3 (Responsibilities of Graduate Students to the University)  and 2.5.6 (Vacations)  of the calendar for more information. 

** All courses on a student’s record after these dates will require a grade. Exceptions require submission of a Petition for Special Consideration 

Convocation Dates

 

Please consult the link below for convocation dates:

http://registrar.mcmaster.ca/grad/convo-dates/